#### **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

Tuesday 17 May 2016

#### Present:-

1

Councillors Ashwood, Baldwin, Bialyk, Branston, Brimble, Bull, Denham, Edwards, Foale, Foggin, Gottschalk, Hannaford, Hannan, Harvey, Henson, Mrs Henson, Holland, Keen, Lamb, Leadbetter, Lyons, Mitchell, Morse, Musgrave, Newby, Owen, Packham, Pearson, Prowse, Robson, Sheldon, Sills, Spackman, Sutton, Thompson, Vizard, Wardle, Warwick and Wood

### ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR

**RESOLVED** on the nomination of Councillor D Henson, seconded by Councillor Hannaford, that Councillor Cynthia Thompson be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

# 2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR</u>

**RESOLVED** on the nomination of Councillor Leadbetter, seconded by Councillor Lyons, that Councillor Peter Holland be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

#### 3 **VOTES OF THANKS**

**RESOLVED** that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Olwen Foggin and Mr Gerald Foggin have discharged the duties of the Lord Mayor and Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

Councillor Denham, on behalf of the Council, presented badges to the retiring Lord Mayor and retiring Lord Mayor's Consort.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

**RESOLVED** that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Lesley Robson and Mrs Jill Grainger have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

#### 4 **ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CONFIRMATION OF THE** DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Edwards was confirmed as Leader of the Council. Councillor Edwards confirmed the appointment of Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED that Councillor Edwards be elected as Leader of the Council and Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

# APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

The Leader, seconded by Councillor Sutton, moved that Executive be increased to its maximum of ten members, with an additional two portfolio holders, making nine in total, with the tenth member of the Executive being Cllr Leadbetter as the Leader of the Opposition. He also recommended that the Members' Allowances budget be increased appropriately to accommodate the additional Special Responsibility Allowance payable for the additional Portfolio Holders. He advised that it was estimated to be no more than an additional £13,000 per annum.

#### **RESOLVED** that:-

5

(1) the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor Portfolio or Group

Edwards P.W. Leader

Pearson O. Support Services Morse E.A. **Customer Access** 

Owen K. Housing Revenue Account

Hannaford R.M. Place

**Economy and Culture** Denham R.C. City Development Sutton R.H. Bull P.D. Communities and Neighbourhoods

Sport and Health and

Bialyk P.M.

Wellbeing

Conservative Leadbetter, A.R.

the Members' Allowances budget be increased appropriately to (2) accommodate the additional Special Responsibility Allowance payable for the additional Portfolio Holders. This is estimated to be no more than an additional £13,000 per annum.

#### **APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES**

#### **RESOLVED** that:-

- (1) the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs and Independent Persons, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be approved; and
- delegated authority be given to the Corporate Manager, Democratic and Civic Support to make any necessary changes to the Terms of Reference of the Scrutiny Committees so that they align as much as possible with the Portfolio Holders. Any amendments will be reported to the various committees at their first meetings.

(The meeting commenced at 7.05 pm and closed at 8.10 pm)

Chair



#### **EXETER CITY COUNCIL**

# EXECUTIVE. SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES ETC. 2016/17

# **EXECUTIVE** (10)

Edwards, P.W. (Leader)

Bialyk, P.M.

Bull, P.D.

Denham, R.C.

Hannaford, R.M.

Leadbetter, A.R.

Morse, E.A.

Owen, K.

Pearson, O.

Sutton, R.H.

# **PORTFOLIO HOLDERS**

Edwards, P.W. Leader

Pearson, O. Support Services

Owen, K. Housing Revenue Account

Hannaford, R.M. Place

Sutton, R.H. City Development Economy and Culture

Bull, P.D. Communities and Neighbourhood

Morse, E.A. Customer Access

Bialyk, P.M. Sport and Health and Wellbeing

#### **MEMBER CHAMPIONS**

Gottschalk, D.R. Young People Robson, L.S. Older People

Wood, D. Food Waste Collection

# **SCRUTINY - CORPORATE SERVICES** (10)

Sheldon, G.N. (Chair)
Warwick, S. (Deputy Chair)
Ashwood, R.L.
Baldwin, M.A.
Hannan, K.A.
Harvey, D.J.
Holland, P.G.
Lamb, R.C.
Musgrave, C.
Robson, G.N.

#### **SCRUTINY - PEOPLE** (10)

Wardle, A.J (Chair)

Foale, B.(Deputy Chair)

Branston. R.A.

Foggin, O.A.

Holland, P.G.

Hannan, K.A.

Newby, R.C.

Packham, H.L.

Robson, L.S.

Vizard, N.J.

### **SCRUTINY - PLACE** (10)

Brimble, S.A. (Chair)
Lyons, R.C. (Deputy Chair)
Foggin, O.A.
Henson, D.J.
Keen, L.P.G.
Mitchell, K.J.
Prowse, G.J.
Robson, L.S.
Wood, D.
Wardle, A.J.

# **PLANNING COMMITTEE** (13)

Sutton, R.H. (Chair) Harvey, D.J.

Lyons, R.C. (Deputy Chair) Henson, Mrs Y.A.C.

Bialyk, P.M. Morse, E.A.
Denham, R.C. Newby, R.C.
Edwards, P.W. Prowse, G.J.
Foale, B. Spackman, R.D.

Gottschalk, D.R.

# **Planning Member Working Group (7)**

Lyons, R.C. (Chair) Prowse, G.J. Spackman, R.D.

Edwards, P.W. Chair of Planning Committee Newby, R.C.

# MAJOR GRANTS AND NEW HOMES BONUS PANEL (4)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair)

Bull, P.D.

Leadbetter, A.R.
Sutton, R.H.

#### **EXETER BOARD (14)**

(5 City Councillors)

Bull, P.D. Henson, D.J. Denham, R.C. Sills, L.S.

Edwards, P.W.

(9 County Councillors)

Prowse, G.J. (Chair)

Foggin, O.M.

Hannaford, R.M.

Hannan, A.

Leadbetter, A.R.

Morse, E.A.

Owen, J.

Westlake, R.A.

Hill, R.J.

### **EXETER BOARD FUNDING SUB GROUP** (7)

(3 City Councillors)

Bull, P.D. Edwards, P.W.

Denham, R.C.

(4 County Councillors)

Prowse G.J. (Chair) Owen, J. Hannaford, R.M. Westlake, R.A.

# LEISURE CENTRE AND BUS STATION COMPLEX PROGRAMME BOARD (7)

Bialyk, P.M. (Chair) Henson, Mrs Y.A.C.

Denham, R.C. Prowse, G.J. Edwards, P.W. Wardle, A.J.

Gottschalk, D.R.

## **LICENSING COMMITTEE** (14)

Spackman, R.D. (Chair)
Sheldon, G.N. (Deputy Chair)
Branston, R.A.
Brimble, S.A.
Foale, B.
Hannan, K.A.
Henson, D.J.
Holland, P.G.
Keen, L.P.G.
Mitchell, K.J.
Newby, R.C.
Owen, K.
Pearson, P.G.
Sills, L.S.

#### **Licensing Sub-Committees (3)**

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

# **AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE** (11)

Vizard, N.J. (Chair) Henson, Mrs Y.A.C.

Wood, D. (Deputy)

Ashwood, R.L.

Baldwin, M.A.

Gottschalk, D.R.

Lamb, R.

Packham, H.L.

Sheldon, G.N.

Warwick, S.

Harvey, D.J.

#### **INDEPENDENT PERSONS**

Mr M. Fowkes and Mr W. Page appointed as Independent Persons to assist the Council in promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct amongst its Elected Members.

# **STRATA JOINT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (3)**

(1 City Councillor - Leader)

Edwards P.W.

# STRATA JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

(3 City Councillors)

Lyons, R.C. Sheldon, G.N. Leadbetter, A.R.

# **EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)**

(4 City Councillors)

Bull, P.D. Newby, R.C. Harvey, D.J. Wardle, A.J.

(9 County Councillors)

Foggin, O.M. Morse, E.A. Hannaford, R.M. Owen, J. Hannan, A. Prowse, G.J. Hill, R.J. Westlake, R.A.

Leadbetter, A.R.